Share this on
Paddy Power Irish Poker Open – Day 1 in the Books

Day 1 of the Paddy Power Irish Poker Open has been completed. When the registration was done after Level 4 started, the total number of players climbed to 411. This meant that the final prize pool was concluded at €822,000. This prize pool means that the winner will be walking away with €200,000 and a total of 47 players will be getting paid for their performance. The rest will have to look for their chance in other tournaments.

Of those 400 and change that started yesterday, 253 survived to battle today, as Day 2 will be starting at 1 PM local time. Some of the notable names that hit the rail yesterday included Martin Staszko, Ryan Spittles, Nick Abourisk,  and Mark Kelly.

On the other side of the spectrum are those who managed to end their day with some ammunition for today. Leading that group of players is Jonathan Lundy with a stack of 201,000. Although he had somewhat of a rollercoaster day, Lundy managed to emerge on top in the end and proudly tweeted about the fact, together with the picture of his big stack. Others with very workable stacks include second in chips Gerard Harraghy with 156,000, Yoni Kissous (154,800), Vincent McNamee (129,300) and David Masters  (119,600).

Still in the running are two former Irish Open Champions, Kevin Vandersmissen and reigning champ Ian Simpson, so we will certainly be keeping our eye on these two. Others who will be joining them at the tables today include Andy Black, Max Heinzelmann, John O’Shea, and  John Eams.

Day 2 will be starting at 1 PM local time today and the feature table will be streamed on We’ll also be bringing you updates via Twitter and this site, so you won’t be missing  any of the action. It also means that there is plenty of reason to stay with us and enjoy the action as it unfolds.

Related Articles

Ivan Potocki

Ivan is an aspiring journalist writer from Bosnia and Herzegovina. With a degree in English Literature and a fiery work ethic, Ivan adds a dynamic and flexible element to the PokerUpdate writing staff.